Marac referral criteria and form

A resource providing information on the criteria for a referral to Marac and answers to frequently asked questions about these

The four criteria for a referral to Marac are:

  • visible high risk
  • professional judgement
  • potential escalation
  • repeat referral


This resource explains each of the four criteria. It also answers some of the most frequently asked questions about Marac referral criteria, including:

  • Why SafeLives recommends a threshold of 14 ‘yes’ answers
  • Professional judgement:
    • How do I articulate my professional judgement?
    • What do I do if my referral is ‘rejected’ by the Marac?
  • Potential escalation
    • Why does SafeLives recommend a threshold of three incidents in 12 months?
    • Doesn’t this criterion just relate to police call outs?
    • Why is my local threshold different?
  • Repeat referrals
    • Why have we updated the repeat referral definition?
    • Why are repeat referrals important?
    • Who should refer a repeat case to Marac?


You may also be interested in

Find a Marac

Contact details for regional Maracs for practitioners working with victims of domestic abuse.

Information for a victim referred to Marac

The victim’s safety should be at the centre of the Marac. This guide provides information about how to inform victims of domestic abuse who are referred to Marac. 

Marac to Marac referral process

A one page resource providing guidance to Marac practitioners on the appropriate steps to follow in the Marac to Marac referral process.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive our monthly newsletters about the latest training, events, research and fundraising initiatives at SafeLives. Together, we can end domestic abuse, for everyone, for good.

Sign up