Getting a diploma in domestic abuse

The Domestic Abuse Dipolma

We want you to feel proud and confident in your role as a highly qualified professional, which is why all of our England and Wales based courses continue to be accredited by OCN London.

By attaining a diploma, you will have proven yourself knowledgeable and capable in three of the four areas we have identified as key to helping victims and survivors of domestic abuse – Idva, Outreach, Victims of Sexual Violence and Young People.

As more and more practitioners take up this qualification we hope more victims and survivors will receive the kind of tailored support that meets their needs, when they need it

How do I qualify for the diploma?

One foundation course will gain you a Certificate in Domestic Abuse. Complete an additional two specialist level courses and take home a Diploma in Domestic Abuse.

Step 1: Complete and pass a SafeLives Foundation course (Idva Foundation OR Ypva Foundation OR Outreach Foundation). This will give you an accreditation in Domestic Abuse OCNLR level 3. All SafeLives Foundation courses are made up of the same initial 8 days of core domestic abuse knowledge plus 4 days of specialist content, 12 days of training in total.

If you have already graduated from the Foundation course, please check the date of your certification. You are eligible to complete the diploma only if you received your accreditation after September 2016.

Step 2:  You will need to complete and pass two further Specialist 4 day courses to add to your Foundation course qualification in order to obtain the Diploma. These must be in two of the course areas that are not the focus of the foundation course you have completed, for example, if you have completed Idva Foundation you are not eligible for the Idva Specialist course.

List of specialist courses to choose from:

What other training is available?

We offer training at both foundation and Specialist level in four key areas. Each foundation course is based on what we considered essential DV training plus a unit on a specialist field. The Specialist units assume you already have this knowledge and offers the chance to learn in a different field.

Scotland based learners

Please be aware that if you are based in Scotland and have completed your Idaa qualification, this does not count towards the Diploma in Domestic Abuse. You will still benefit from the learnings of the individual courses but there will be differences in terms of legislation and practise.

The Scottish Idaa training is accredited by SQA and unfortunately, credits cannot be combined with OCN.

Learn more about our Scotland training:

Two women looking at a notepad.

Independent domestic abuse advocate (Idaa) training

Idaa Training aims to equip managers or practitioners in domestic abuse services in Scotland with the knowledge and skills to offer a consistent, safe and effective response to high risk victims of domestic abuse.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive our monthly newsletters about the latest training, events, research and fundraising initiatives at SafeLives. Together, we can end domestic abuse, for everyone, for good.

Sign up