Violence Against Women & Girls Sector: Sector Shared Core Standards

These Standards have been developed by the Violence Against Women and Girls (VAWG) Sector Sustainability Working Group, formed in 2013 by Imkaan, Rape Crisis England & Wales, Respect, SafeLives and Women’s Aid to promote the sustainability of specialist independent, local organisations within the VAWG sector. These five national organisations are recognised for developing the following areas of specialist expertise:

  • Imkaan: Work with BME women and girl survivors of violence
  • Rape Crisis England & Wales: Work with women and girl survivors of rape and sexual violence
  • Respect: Work with male survivors of violence and work with perpetrators
  • SafeLives: Work to end domestic abuse and make families safe
  • Women’s Aid: Work to end domestic abuse against women and children

Each national body has its own Quality Standards covering its specialist work. In 2014 the VAWG Sector Sustainability Working Group commissioned the Child and Woman Abuse Studies Unit (CWASU) at London Metropolitan University to produce a set of shared core standards. This work was funded by Rape Crisis England and Wales.

The purpose of these standards is to enable joint commissioning across specialist services in the VAWG sector, both nationally and locally. They have been agreed as designated shared core standards, articulating the minimum standards common to the five specialist VAWG organisations that participated in their development. They can be used as assessment criteria in tender specifications and bidding processes in conjunction with the suggested indicators.

Read the full Shared Core Standards


Need help?

Further guidance on use of the standards is available from:

Dorett Jones
Development & Training Manager, Imkaan

Sara Kirkpatrick
Services Development Manager, Respect

Dr C Quinn
Head of Operations, Rape Crisis England & Wales

Jo Morrish
Interim Head of Knowledge Hub, SafeLives

Janet McDermott
Manager of Member Services, Women’s Aid